TolkienMovies.com
September 17, 2001

Copyright Info
Trudy S.

With the time lag in this forum (as opposed to the message boards) this information may have already been provided. Steve L. said, "However, I don't know to what extent people can do that without obtaining legal permission from whoever holds the rights to his works. After a certain period of time, though, any published work becomes public property; and I think that period may have already lapsed where LOTR is concerned.  I'm not sure. If anyone has legal knowledge concerning such matters [then there's a partial sentence that I suppose was eaten by the computer]."

I'm not a lawyer, but I did some research on the Library of Congress website and found some facts. For works being published today, the copyright limit is 70 years after the death of the author (or the last surviving author if there were more than one).

A different law applies to works published before 1978, which would include LotR even if you use the second edition. The website goes through a history of how the law was changed, which I won't go into, but the end result is that such a work can be protected for a total of 95 years (the rights first expire after 28 years, then can be renewed for another term of 67 years, and I don't think we have to worry about the Tolkien estate forgetting to renew the rights). If you take the earliest publication date (FotR in 1954), that would mean the copyright would expire in 2049. 

The website points out that this is U.S.A. law, and other countries differ, but also says that many countries have signed accords that give them at least a good degree of similarity.  Both the U.S. and U.K. have signed every accord that's come down the pike, but I'm not sure exactly how _much_ their laws harmonize.  Any Brits here who would know?