TolkienMovies.com
December 21, 2001

My Review and It Is Raw
Jeff C.

Just got back from seeing LOTR, a day late, but scheduling problems made it that way.

I am not sure if it is because I had such high hopes, or maybe I am a subconscious purist, but I found the film lacking seriously in a few areas.

Keep in mind, I am not a movie producer, nor am I a movie buff, but I still believe the 3 hours could have been done better.

First of all, too much Gollum for no reason. Gandalf tells Frodo that Gollum is following them, when that should have been carried as a mystery, or at least I thought so. I found that intriguing when I first read the books, and the movie could have carried that.

OK, there was no Radagast meeting with Gandalf, I guess I can understand that, but I do NOT understand Gandalf telling Saruman everything he knows before Gandalf figures our Saruman is a traitor! Tolkien made it very precise that Gandalf had a feeling that telling Saruman everything just wasn't a good idea.

The Wizard battle?? The Wizard Battle?? I don't think I need say anymore about that do I? Let me just say, the time used up for the wizard battle would have better been spent on Radagast and the perhaps the hobbits fake out move to Cricket Hollow.

I will say they handled the farmer Maggot thing well, I always thought that would have to be cut to make the movie move along.

Butterbur was a complete joke. In fact, the whole Prancing Pony seen was pretty lame, Frodo even shows everyone the ring.

No Bill Ferny... Ummmmm OK.. I will live.. Thought it was pretty relevant in the books though.

One thing I found odd, and no matter which way you did it, it had no affect on the time issue, but WHY was it that Gandalf insisted on the mountain pass? In the Book, Gandalf wants to try Moria more than the mountain, Strider was the one against it. PJ could have really done better there, and I don't see any excuse there.